Raw Chocolate Coconut Energy Balls

The thing with a broken finger is, well, it’s a broken finger. But the thing with a broken finger and cooking is that it really isn’t any fun. When we walked out of the ER a couple of weeks ago after having spent four hours in there, my first thought was ‘but how am I going to cook now?’. My other half laughed and said I’d be fine.

10 days in now, I have adapted. Picking out things to make is not down to how quick it can be cooked now, it’s down to how much I need to chop. Being vegan and trying to stay away from pasta and rice at the moment, I’m really only down to lots and lots of veggies and fruit now, but there is only so long a girl can last until there is need for chocolate.

So while looking at some lovely food blogs, I came across this beautiful recipe. I’ve never experimented with raw cooking before, but it’s so so easy! Especially when you’re down to three useable fingers on your right hand. Honestly, I would have never imagined my pinky to be so important in handling knifes when it comes to mincing up some garlic quickly.

I’ve played around with the recipe a little bit and here it is. My own version of raw chocolatey truffley energy balls. Oh baby!

Makes about 15 balls

1/2 cup sesame seeds
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup dates
5 tbsp cocoa powder
2 tbsp water (this can change depending on how much water your dates have in them)

coconut shavings, cocoa powder, powdered sugar, pistachios for decoration. Be creative here!

Combine the sesame seeds and sunflower seeds in the food processer and pulse until you get something that resembles grainy flour. If your food processor won’t get you where you want to be, don’t worry too much. I had whole sesame seeds in mine and they were still delicious.

Add in the dates and continue pulsing. Your mix will slowly start to form in a pasty-seedy kind of goodness. This is what you are aiming for. If yours is a lot smoother, then go you! Your food processor is officially better than mine. Or you’re simply more patient.

Now add in the cocoa and mix. Don’t add any water in yet, pulse a little more and then try out the texture. If you can press them together in a ball and they stay that way you’re good to go. Otherwise add water by the tablespoon and continue to pulse.

You’re nearly done now. And it’s time to get your hands dirty. Scoop out the dates-seed mixture and form little balls. Mine were smaller than golf balls, but you can go as big or small as you want here.

Now roll them around in your topping of choice, or leave them bare and enjoy the pure chocolatey taste. Myamm!

5 responses to “Raw Chocolate Coconut Energy Balls

  1. I make these once a week and my family LOVES them! Love the simplicity (once my seeds are soaked and dehydrated!) and the yum factor! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

Tell me what you think!

