Triple Chocolate Cake with extra Chocolate!

You know when you wake up in the morning and are thinking to yourself ‘I’m making one hell of a cake today, it’s going to rock my world’? That’s what happened to me this morning. If you replace morning with 12.30pm, because that’s when I’ve been getting out of bed lately. It must be a combination of school being essentially over and the fact that I don’t have a job and am entirely enjoying the unemployment time. Now all I need is for my various body limbs to fully heal and I can to back to my daily yoga schedule and other amazingness. I miss yoga an awful lot. My friend Amy called me a yoga-addict, and I fully supported her in saying that. Yoga is just so good to your body. And with me having given up on trying to cut out on all the sugary chocolatey goodness in my life, I finally found an excersise that actually does something to my muscles, body and mind. What’s yours?

This cake combines all kinds of chocolate. We’ve got cocoa powder, melted chocolate and chocolate chips in the batter. If you’re feeling healthy, leave out the chips and the melted chocolate in the middle, it saves some time too. But I felt extra indulgent today, so I loaded it all up.

Recipe note: curdling milk is harder than I thought. My ever so much loved oat milk won’t curdle, I’ve tried so many times. And the dirt cheap soymilk doesn’t curdle either. The semi-expensive one does. And hazelnut milk doesn’t. But almond milk does. Now someone with a science degree please explain me why. So I’d say try it out. You might be lucky and happen to enjoy the kind of milk that curdles easily. I had to try around a little bit, but luckily my grocery store started selling reasonably priced almond milk, so I’m all good to go.

1 cup almond milk (or any other yummy vegan milk, see notes)
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
big pinch of salt
1/2 to 1 cup of chocolate chips (depends on how chocolatey you are feeling)

2/3 cup non-dairy milk
1 cup dark chocolate chips
1 tsp arrowroot powder

Preheat the oven to 180C

You’ll need two bowls for this lovely cake.

Combine the milk with the vinegar to curdle the milk, which will take a few minutes.

While you are waiting for the magic to happen, combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and powder and salt in the second bowl.

The milk should now be ready for the remaining ingredients. Mix in the sugar and the oil and add the vanilla extract.

Now it’s time to mix the two bowls together. Mix the dry ingredients in two or three batches to the wet ingredients and stir well, until no little lumps of flour remain. Fold in the chocolate chips and you’re ready to go.

Grease your baking tin. You’ve got two options here. You can either go for 6-8inch circular one, or use a 7-10inch long rectangular one (the one I used). Fill in the batter, even out the top and pop it in the oven for 30 minutes, until a pick comes out clean.

Let it sit in its form for 15 minutes, then turn it over on a cold wire to cool completely. If you’ve chosen the healthy version, you’re done now. If you’re going all the way to chocolate heaven, read on.

Mix in the milk and chocolate chips in a small sauce pan over medium heat and bring to a boil. Whisk in the arrowroot powder, let boil for a few more minutes until it thickens and let it cool down to room temperature while your cakes is cooling too.

Once the cake is cold, slice it in half horizontally. I used a dull breadknife. I’ve tried this with all kinds of knifes, sharp chopping knifes don’t work very well, the super sharp breadknifes that look slightly scary don’t work well either. There’s this one knife in my kitchen with a blade that looks a little like puffy clouds and it works magic. But you probably have lots of knifes lying at home, just give them a try.

Spread the chocolate sauce over the bottom half. You’ll probably find that is really runny and just goes everywhere. Mine did. Put the bottom half in the fridge for up to an hour (I waited about 30 minutes, I was getting impatient by then), it will harden the sauce and cool down the cake even more. Once out of the fridge, you can scrape up the sauce that’s all over your plate and put it back on the cake. I don’t like wasting precious chocolate. Now put the top half back on and you’re done. Look at that beauty!

I keep mine in the fridge just to make sure the sauce stays where I want it. Although, 20 minutes after I’ve officially declared the cake done, half of it is already gone. Housemates and boyfriend are hungry people.

Tell me what you think!

