Roasted Strawberry and Pepper Scones

So London hasn’t been very kind when it comes to being summery this year. And hell, do I miss it. You know, sometimes, no matter how comfortable your bed is, you just wanna be outside, in the park, doing absolutely nothing? When even reading that book you brought to the park with you seems too much work to even pick up? I miss that. Lately all I’ve been doing is preparing for my degree show (2 more days to go!) and staying in bed.

Luckily my finger healed very well, and the bruised knee cap didn’t cause too much of a trouble either, so I was able to get back on my legs and go to the oh so lovely veggie store down the road. And they had some strawberries from Kent. While I’m never quite convinced about strawberries being grown off-season (off-season here means in cold months. Silly England), these ones looked so absolutely delicious I had to pick them up. And with that recipe in mind that I saw on TV the other night, these scones were meant to happen. I veganized it a little bit, the obvious egg and butter and whatnot got a lovely substitute and oh my, they were absolutely delicious.

I had mine with whipped soy cream and some lovely raspberry jam. But feel free to experiment!

Makes about 16 scones

For the strawberries
400g strawberries, cut in half
2 tsp sugar
1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
For the scones
500g flour
50g sugar
1/2 tsp salt
100g very cold vegan butter (I use this one), cut into cubes
300ml oat milk, or any other nutty milk, I can see hazelnut milk working really well here
plus extra milk for brushing the scones
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
Preheat your oven to 120C. Spread the strawberries out on a baking tray lined with either aluminum foil or baking paper. Sprinkle the sugar and pepper over the strawberries and bake them in the oven for about 45-60 minutes. You’re going to end up with lovely intense mini strawberry halves. Try one, they are delicious!
Let them cool once they are out of the oven. Once cooled, scrape them up with a spatula. Don’t leave out the gooey jam-like juice, that’s the good bits!
And now for the scones.
Raise the oven temperature to 180C
Put the flour and butter in a bowl and mix it through with your hands until it resembles very dry breadcrumbs. If it looks mostly like flour, don’t worry too much. Add the remaining ingredients along with the strawberries and mix it together with a wooden spoon until you get a big lump of dough. Now it’s time to knead it through on your working surface to make a round shape about 2-3cm thick.
Get out a glass (I used a wine glass, because I was feeling fancy) and cut out your scones. Lay them out on your baking tray. Leave about 2cm between each, it doesn’t have to be very exact as they don’t spread out much, they only grow taller. Brush the tops with some milk and off they go in the oven.
Bake them for 15 minutes, let them cool a slight little bit and then cut them in half and smother them in whipped cream, jam and all those other sweety delicious things you can think of.
Tell me what you think!

