Fancy-Schmancy Crackers

The time spent waiting around when there is beautiful sunshine outside usually results in me doing something in the kitchen. Especially now that school is out forever (goodbye student discounts), summer seems to have finally arrived in London and I’m stuck inside waiting for a parcel. Or maybe two, if the parcel god is feeling happy and decides for timing to be on my side.

So with the weather slowly turning warmer, I have all kinds of recipe ideas coming up. I’m thinking chocolate fudge popsicles. But not today. Today it is time for seedy-seeded crackers.

In my last job I lasted a full four shifts after realizing that I really don’t like it and quit. The one good thing about that place was the unlimited access to tea, coffee, pastries and bread. Non of the pastries were vegan, but their sourdough bread was oh-so-amazing. And we got to taste it all the time. That one day when I was at the registers we had a bowl of crackers standing right next to it that customers could nibble on while their card payment was being processed. Most the time it was us, the staff, who was nibbling on it. They were absolutely delicious. I can’t quite remember what exactly it was, but I clearly still have that distinctive taste of anis and sweetness in my mouth.

With these crackers I used essentially all the things I had lying around in my kitchen. The beautiful simpleness of pumpkin, sunflower and flax seeds. It’s my first attempt at trying to make crackers, here is how I did it.

I used wheat bran and regular flour to make sure the wheat wouldn’t overpower the seed flavors. Post-making it now, I’m thinking I could have upped the wheat bran a little more, they look rather pale. But hey, it’s my first time making crackers, and they are pretty damn tasty for that.

Makes about 35 crackers

150g seeds of all sorts
100g wheat bran
140g all purpose flour
1 tbsp agave syrup
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp salt
135ml water

Preheat your oven to 150C

Run the seeds through your food processor to make them into a flour-type consistency. I had trouble getting the sesame seeds and flax seeds completely ground up, so don’t worry too much.

Add in the flour and wheat bran, along with the agave olive oil and salt and keep pulsing.

Now add in the water. This is where my food processor showed its weak side and started making worrying noises. So I turned it off and continued by hand and kneaded the dough. I actually think that’s a better idea anyways because I cherish my food processor and want it to work for many years to come.

Divide the dough into three pieces, take one piece and roll it out on a floured surface. You want it to be really thin, about 2-3mm, just like the crackers you buy at the store. Cut them up in whatever shape you want them to be, I went with the good old rectangular.

Dust some flour on two baking sheets and spread the first batch of crackers on one sheet. Pop that one in the oven.

While the first round of crackers is baking, prepare the second one: roll out more dough, cut them into your preferred size, and so on. You’ve got the hang of this.

The crackers take about 15 minutes in the oven. I learned today that I should have turned the sheet by 180 degrees halfway through, the crackers closer to the back where definitely more browned than the front ones. But oh well. They are still nonetheless absolutely delicious.

One response to “Fancy-Schmancy Crackers

Tell me what you think!

