Bean Me Up Salad

I’ve been on a protein craving trip lately. The more protein, the better. I’ve even started drinking protein shakes, although I am a little bit worried about the amount of soy that I am currently eating. So a few weeks ago during my weekly shopping I saw all those beautiful beans that were on offer. I’m usually pretty good with buying dried beans and just soaking them overnight, but I’ve found it so much easier just having a few cans at home for those days when I don’t feel like planning ahead. You probably know what I’m taking about. If you want to make hummus now, you want to make it NOW. And you don’t want to think about having to soak the chickpeas first so that you can make hummus tomorrow. Hence it was time to get some good old canned beans. I found one bean that I had never heard of: Kala Chana. Google then told me it is a related to the chickpea, but it’s actually even better for you. More fiber and lower glycemic index. Hello there new favorite health food! I found it in the international foods section, but if you can’t get your hands on it regular chickpeas will do just fine.

The beauty of this salad is that it keeps getting better. And better. And better. I ate my last little batch today, and after four days in the fridge I think the dressing just reached the right amount of being everywhere. The beans were entirely soaked in lemony goodness, and I already want to make more of it.

Feel free to add in any random vegetables you have lying around. I added in some cucumber, but I can see grated carrots or even fresh spinach being oh so very delicious here. Or maybe some peppers to add some color.

Makes a whole load of salad

1 can kidney beans
1 can black eyed beans
1 can kala chana
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp dried basil
2 garlic cloves, finely minced or pressed

First, make your dressing. Add together all the ingredients and mix them up really well.

Pour everything over your beans, mix it really well and you’re done.

2 responses to “Bean Me Up Salad

Tell me what you think!

