Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream Heaven

First off, I need to apologize for the not so exciting Instagram picture of the very exciting ice cream. I wasn’t planning on posting this recipe, but a few people asked me about it, so I thought, hey, why not talk about ice cream some more. So here I am, with a not so good picture but a very amazing recipe.

A few days ago I decided it was time again. Ice cream time. The thing with making your own ice cream is, just like with wanting to have beans the next day, you gotta plan ahead. Unless you have one of those industrial ice cream makers that doesn’t need pre-freezing. But mine does, and so it went into the freezer on Saturday morning. I was dreaming of all the delicious summery ice cream flavors I could make. Lemon sorbet. Raspberry. Pineapple. Lavender Mint. Ohhhh. Then my housemate Mathieu came home from a miserable day at work and wanted comfort food. When I told him it was ice-cream day his excitement grew. ‘Can we put Snickers in it? Or M&Ms? Or both? And have chocolate? And can we make it with real cream?’ I told him that I’d make him ice-cream, but that it would be as vegan as everything else I cooked. ‘Chocolate peanut butter?’ he asked. I nodded and smiled.

This is one of the creamiest recipes I’ve ever made. I usually use two cups of creamer, but this one only uses one, I guess the peanut butter adds in for the creaminess. It’s so good, I made it last night and it’s already gone.

A little bit about ice-cream makers.
I got mine from John Lewis for a mere £40, which I thought was an absolute steal. The reason why you really need them, and I learned that the hard way, is that you don’t want any crystals to form in the ice cream while it is slowly freezing. The crystals are what makes it a solid chunk of ice, instead of the creamy consistency you’re going for. What the ice-cream maker essentially is, is a bowl that goes in the freezer, a little plastic thing that goes inside the bowl and turns around while your ice cream mixture is slowly freezing. The little plastic thing is what keeps it from forming all those crystals. On my most intense ice-cream days I find it upsetting that I can only make one batch a day. But on those days I’ve also started putting the bowl back into the freezer the moment batch number one was done. That way I got one flavor a day, which was quite heavenly.

Makes about 3-4 servings

1 cup non-dairy milk
2 tbsp arrowroot powder
1 cup soy creamer
1/2 cup sugar, can be reduced to less if you want it less sweet
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
1/2 cup peanut butter

Divide the milk into 1/4 cup and 3/4 cup. The 3/4 cup goes into a pot to bring to a boil along with the soy creamer, sugar, cocoa powder and chocolate chips. Stir frequently over moderate heat.

While the chocolate-milk mixture is heating up mix the remaining 1/4 cup milk with the arrowroot powder. A whisk works best here to prevent any lumps forming.

When the chocolate-milk mixture beings to boil remove it from the heat and immediately add in the arrowroot mix and stir very well. Now everything should become a lot thicker.

Refill your chocolate mix into a bowl to cool down to room temperature and then put it in the fridge to cool it down as much as possible, at least 3 hours.

When ready get your ice-cream maker set up, pour your chocolate goodness into it and let the magic happen. But mostly listen to your ice-cream makers instructions, because they are all a little different.

Stir in the peanut butter by hand when the churning process is done, pop it in the freezer for another hour or so and you’re done.

Tell me what you think!

