Gooey Raspberry Brownies

It happened! It really really happened! Gooey brownies. It’s taken me 3 years, Three. Whole. Years. It’s the one thing that I failed at, time after time after time. It’s the one recipe not even Isa Moskowitz (she’s my hero) was able to help me with, with all of her gorgeous recipes. They failed. Every single one of them. But today, today was the day.

Honestly, I can’t express it in words how happy I was as I had that first bite of that brownie. Maybe I just did everything right. Or maybe it was the fact that I waited, I refridgerated them, I didn’t overbake them, I added egg-replacer, I even used parchment paper, the one thing I always save on during baking because I find it stupidly expensive relative to what it actually is.

Anyhow. You can see my amazement. These brownies have it all. They are gooey. The whole wheat flour makes them chewy, but make sure only to use pastry whole wheat flour, bread flour is going to make it way too textured and, well, bread-like. And the raspberries give it that summer feeling that London just hasn’t given me yet this year. If you can’t get your hands on whole wheat flour (it took me almost a year to find it over here), regular flour works fine too. I always tell myself when I’m baking with whole wheat that it really is a healthy treat. But I can already feel myself wanting to go back for more.

The reason why I reached out to egg-replacer for this one was the sheer experience I’ve had with making brownies that turned out all kinds of wrong. They were either cake-like, rock hard or reminded me more of fluffy baked pancakes than the gooey, sticky heaven-like texture that everyone longs for.

Makes 8 brownies

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup mashed raspberries
1/2 cup white or brown sugar
1 serving of egg-replacer, equivalent to one egg
1/4 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup raspberries, whole

Preheat the oven to 180C and line a 25 x 15 cm ovenproof dish with parchment paper.

In your bigger bowl mix together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and soda and salt.

In a smaller bowl mash up the raspberries and mix them with the sugar and egg-replacer.

Stir the raspberry mixture into the dry ingredients, just until everything is moist. Fold in the chocolate chips and whole raspberries, but try to make sure not to crush them too much.

Pour everything into the prepared dish and even out the top.

Pop it in the oven for 20 minutes, you want them to be as gooey as possible. Don’t use your baking knowledge here and try to wait for the inserted stick to come out clean. You want to go for a knife or stick that is smothered in batter, then you’re good to go.

Let the brownies cool down for about 30 minutes, then transfer the parchment paper holding the brownies onto a plate and put in the fridge for another hour or so until thoroughly cooled. Now they are ready to slice and serve.

Tell me what you think!

