Fluffy Chocolate Cupcakes


Life has been one hell of a rollercoaster for the past few months. Hence the absence of elaborate cooking adventures and other things. I’m moving in with my boyfriend in a week, we still don’t have a van organized, the entire kitchen in my house needs to be packed up and I can’t bring myself to start that because I know once I’ve started I won’t be able to cook the way I want to. Then again, cooking hasn’t been on my priorities list lately anyways. Sadly.

I finally got myself together to start (yet another) etsy account. I’m selling books now! Alas, there’s only one of them online at the moment because I haven’t gotten around to work on the color correction of all the others. But have a look for now. I think you might like them. My friend Paula, who was so kind to let me use her gorgeous screenprints managed to get me four sales in Finland. Unfortunately they are not through etsy so I won’t get any happy postitive feedback, but I’m staying positive about getting my first sale on there. Eventually.

To add onto the whole online networking thing, I’m on the verge of being part of the most exciting blog/collaboration project I could have ever imagined. We are about to have our first meeting this evening, and part of me knows that it has the chance of being big. Huge even. All I can tell you right now is that the four of us met at the internship I’m doing right now (more about that in the next part) and that we all more or less don’t quite enjoy our time there as much as we were hoping. So then one desperate afternoon, two days ago, George came over to me to give me one of his, by now, legendary prep-talks and things developed from there. We might not learn as much at the internship as we were hoping to, but we sure as hell are using all the contacts we can possibly get. The internship is at Wallpaper, a magazine I’ve been reading for nearly ten years now. The idea of being in the headquater office (actually as I type this) still excites me, knowing that the magazine we make here will be read by people in Los Angeles, Tokyo, Singapore and Buenos Aires. What doesn’t excite me, or any of the other kids, is that it is entirely unorganized and non of us are actually learning anything. Maybe I’ve just outgrown the whole internship thing, but until I know what I want to do with my life I feel that this is the only way to go, and at least now I can work along with elimination and I am sure of the things that I don’t want to do. One more thing to cross off my list.

The cupcakes are for tonight. For when we can sit on the rooftop on the 10th floor of our beautiful office building, talk about names for the new project, how to organize things and just get together. I’m so excited about a new collaboration that might actually work out, and oh my, I can actually share my baking with people who are all mindblowing at networking. It’s a win-win. I like that word.

The recipe is somewhat a knock-off from the triple-super-duper-chocolate cake, just made a little bit healthier and better for. I replaced all of the oil with applesauce and just put one tablespoon of olive oil to make sure the texture isn’t too dry. Make sure to coat your cupcake liners with a tiny bit of oil or melted butter so that the cakes don’t stick, the one thing I permanently forget with mine.

Makes 8 cupcakes (recipe can easily be doubled)

1 cup almond milk
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup apple sauce, unsweetened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

For the frosting:

100g dark chocolate
2-3 tablespoons almond milk

Preheat the oven to 180C and prepare your cupcake liners.

In a small bowl whisk together the almond milk and vinegar and let it sit for a few minutes to curdle.

In a bigger bowl add together the sugar, apple sauce, vanilla extract and lastly the almond milk and mix until evenly distributed.

In a seperate bowl mix together the flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder and soda and add all of it in two batches to the wet ingredients. You’ll probably have a few tiny lumps of flour remaining, but don’t worry about that one, as long as there’s no big ones.

Fill the liners about 3/4 of the way up and try not to eat any of the batter while doing that.

Bake them for 18-20 minutes, until a stick or knife inserted comes out clean.

While they are baking you can work on the frosting.

Get out a small pot over medium-low heat and add in the chocolate and almond milk. If you are using a whole bar of chocolate chop it up into small pieces first. I always use chocolate chips because I like the taste of them.

Melt the chocolate-milk mixture over low heat until you get to a gooey consistency. Turn off the heat and let it cool down while the cupcakes are baking.

Let the cupcakes cool down to room temperature before putting the frosting on. I use a small spoon to cover them in frosting, but I know everyone has their own magic way of making the frosting look beautiful.

I refridgerated my cupcakes over night, now they are sitting in the fridge at work waiting to be eaten later today. I did have one last night right after I put the frosting on and it was still very very gooey. I think they are delicious both ways. Try it out yourself!

Tell me what you think!

