Sun-Dried Tomato and Potato Salad

arugula salad

Yes, yes, I have been back to the lovely gorgeous Blackheath Farmers Market. It’s gonna be a weekly Sunday thing. I’m sure.

And yes, I have yet again indulged in breathtaking arugula. God, I love that stuff. My mom started growing it in her garden, and gave me a reason to start doing the same next spring.

I’m not going to keep you for long today, I’m off to central London to buy more supplies for Paula’s and my new business idea of selling hand-bound books. Have a look here

It is a whole lot of fun and gives me the chance to see how working from home really is. So far it’s exciting, lonely and I tend to feel a little bit like a left-alone housewife with all the cleaning and cooking I tend to do in between stitching pages and printing beautiful patterns. But I’ll see how it goes for now.
Here’s the salad that I’ve been loving lately. It’s actually inspired by a salad Paula made for me when she was here a year ago, ever since then I’ve been dreaming about it.

This is my version of it: Filling potatoes, healthy arugula and just the right amount of seeds and sun-dried tomatoes to fire you back into those warmer summer months. I might just make another one for dinner tonight.

Serves 2 as a side, or 1 as a main

3 cups heaped arugula
4-5 small salad potatoes
1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes, cut into small pieces
4 tbsp seed mix (I used flax seeds and pumpkin seeds, but let your imagination go wild!)
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
2 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 freshly ground pepper
3 tbsp olive oil

Bring a pot with water to the boil and add in your potatoes. They should take about 20 minutes to be done.

While they are boiling away you can prepare the rest of the salad. Mix together the arugula, tomatoes and seeds in your favorite salad bowl.

In a small dish whisk together all the dressing ingredients. Add the sugar by the tsp, to make sure you’re not making it too sweet. I like how the sweetness of the dressing and the salty sun dried tomatoes compliment each other. So give it a try!

Once your potatoes are done let them cool down for 10 minutes. You can peel them if you want, I’m a lazy person and didn’t care too much about the peel.

Add in the potatoes to the salad, pour over the dressing and you’re done. Yummy dinner is served!

Tell me what you think!

